Seven decisions that determine personal success

WOAH it’s been a while!! It’s been quite the journey in the past month or so. I went to a leadership retreat in Texas for my business and when I was there, a truly incredible guy kept mentioning the book The Traveler’s Gift. I kind of forgot about it until Lindsay brought me a copy. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone, whether you are or aren’t where you want to be in life. Talk about a serious picker-upper and is filled with so much wisdom that I’ll probably be reading it over and over until I have it memorized. I kind of wanted to give you a couple pointers that are in the book, just in case you need some motivation to better yourself 🙂 

It all starts with David, who thinks that life can’t get any worse for him. After questioning God “why me?” he get’s sent through time on a journey. On that journey, he meets 7 people from the past who are just filled with wisdom of all kinds, which is where the seven decisions that determine personal success come from. 

The first decision of success: I accept responsibility for my past. I control my thoughts. I control my emotions. I am responsible for my success. The buck stops here.

The second decision of success: I will be a servant to others. I will listen to the counsel of wise men. I will choose my friends with care. I will seek wisdom.

The third decision of success: I am courageous. I am a leader. I seize the moment. I chose now. I am a person of action.

The fourth decision of success: I will not wait. I am passionate about my vision for the future. My course has been charted. My destiny is assured. I have a decided heart.

The fifth decision of success: I will greet each day with laughter. I will smile at every person I meet. I am the possessor of a grateful spirit. Today I will choose to be happy.

The sixth decision of success: I will forgive even those who do not ask for forgiveness. I will forgive those who criticize me unjustly. I will forgive myself. I will greet this day with a forgiving spirit.

The seventh decision of success: I will continue to despite exhaustion. I focus on results. I am a person of great faith. I will persist without exception.

 Those are just the bullet points of every decision. Like I said, I recommend this book for anyone and everyone. Even if you think you’re the best person you can be, take in the wisdom of others. ALWAYS listen to others because believe it or not, you’re not right all the time. They might be funny people, but you don’t know that unless you LISTEN to them. Everyone has a different perspective in different aspects of life, so don’t judge/prejudge, arguing does no good, and be a sponge to others’ wisdom (even if it’s silly wisdom that you need to prove to yourself). Pardon my french when I say “pull your head out of your ass”, but do so, and once you do that, you’ll see that there’s more to life than just yourself and your knowledge. 

Leave a Reply

