What? Strength training doesn’t burn calories??

This has definitely been on my mind for a while. I’ve been trying to be as religious as possible with logging my food on myfitnesspal.com. Usually I don’t keep track of calories, just pay attention to my carb intake so I never entered in what I did for exercising every day. Not sure who has all used myfitnesspal and are familiar with it, but it takes the amount of calories you’ve burned from your workout and subtracts it from the amount of calories you’ve eaten in a day. I decided to log my strength training one day and it didn’t subtract any calories. Even though I’m not a calorie counter, I was definitely not excited that it didn’t take any calories off of my daily intake. I’m telling you right now, if you use myfitnesspal and get discouraged from strength training because it “doesn’t burn any calories”, please don’t let it point you in the direction of doing only cardio for your workouts. If I didn’t know what I know now, I would definitely say “screw you” to strength training. The more muscle you have, the higher your metabolism is and the more fat you’ll burn even while your just sleeping, or in resting state. Ladies, you’re not going to turn into the hulk if you strength train, unless you want to and work very very hard at it. If you have a gym membership and are doing only cardio, ask the front desk to show you their full body circuit. It’s their job to help you so don’t feel like you’re bugging them. Every gym should have a circuit that consists of 7-10 stations that work the major muscle groups of your body. Do that a couple times 2x per week and you’ll boost your metabolism, be more toned, and just feel better all around. Make sure the weight you’re lifting is heavy enough for you to feel fatigued when you’re done, or you’re not working the muscles hard enough for a good muscle gain. DON’T FORGET ABOUT THE IMPORTANCE OF STRENGTH TRAINING!! We’re all aging, and as we age it gets harder and harder to build and keep muscle, so why not start early to help prevent your muscles from deteriorating. Along with that, the extra weight load will strengthen your bones. Must I keep going???? If you don’t have a gym membership, you can still get some strength training at home. Squats, lunges, push ups, triceps dips, bicep curls with the milk carton full of water…. look around and use your imagination. There’s no excuse to not be doing even just a little bit of strength training. So get to it!Ā 

5 thoughts on “What? Strength training doesn’t burn calories??

  1. Hey Cola!

    Strength Training does burn calories, as I’m sure you know.

    I also am a religious myfitnesspal user. I found this handy calculator at the link: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/exercise/calories-burned/strength-training-weight-lifting-weight-training-209

    Then I created my own custom cardio exercise called “strength training” utilizing the calorie per minute ratio illustrated by the calculator. So now whenever I do strength training I have a semi-accurate estimated calorie burn entered in my app.

    I also do circuit-style intensity strength training for which myfitnesspal does have a cardio exercise for.

    Keep up the good work. I enjoy you insight!

    Andy

  2. I thought that same thing when I initially started. I was like “what?!” But now I own a heart rate monitor that I keep track to know fairly accurately what I’m burning.

Leave a Reply

