Get yourself a slow cooker

Well, the title says it all. You can probably tell what I just had for lunch. A few weeks ago, I made this amazing beef and veggie stew and had so much of it, that I gave a bunch to 2 other people and had enough for me to freeze for leftovers. I go visit the boyfriend pretty often and one thing I learned while staying down there is that he can come up with the most random concoctions to throw in the slow cooker to make the most amazing meals. The same with his brothers girlfriend too… use your imagination! I just used browned beef and had a TON of different veggies that needed to be used before they went bad. I threw in some green peppers, onions, diced tomatoes, green beans, a few carrots, tomato paste and sauce, beef broth, veggie broth, water… I mean the list pretty much just goes on. Go to your grocery store pick out your meat (chicken, beef, pork…) and walk through the canned veggies section and grab a bunch of canned veggies (be sure to check the label to make sure there’s not a bunch of added crap). After that, get your broth, go home, and throw everything in the slow cooker for 6ish hours and BOOM! You have the most amazing thing in front of you. One of the things that Nicole made while I was visiting the dude was pulled pork. Now I can’t remember what she put in there but she said she just threw in a bunch of stuff and hoped for the best, it was so dang amazing! Slow cookers are definitely not just for stews or soups. If you’re nervous about using your imagination to throw stuff together, there’s a ton of different healthy low carb recipes you can find and throw together in a matter of minutes for a meal big enough to feed an army! Maybe not the whole army but 10+ people. I’m just amazed at myself. I’ve had a slow cooker forever and never knew its full potential 🙂 Get to cookin!!

Leave a Reply

