Let the training begin!

Alright, so the training has been going on since a week ago but being a dumb dumb, I completely forgot to tell all of my blog followers about it 🙂

February 9th is the Spartan Race here in Arizona. It sounded like a blast and fun to train for when a friend said we should get a team entered. After the new year struck, I started thinking….

I don’t think I’ve been in an obstacle course since my elementary school field days. So being 100% clueless on what to expect, I checked out the Spartan Race website to see what was all going to be included (and yes, I even Googled how to train for an obstacle race). I found a very helpful post from a guy who has done numerous obstacle courses and he suggested running at intervals with other different strength training exercises in between. I still did my usual slow resistance strength training 2 days last week and I threw in a killer treadmill workout, the kind where you shouldn’t eat anytime soon before attempting. It went a little something like this:

  • run 0.25 miles (5.8 MPH, 5% incline)
  • 10 push ups
  • 30 Russian twists (15 each side)
  • 10 tricep dips

I ended on 2 miles total (that list 8x) and was so dead and feeling awesome by the end (aside from wishing I didn’t eat supper so close to gym time)

I have no idea how long the treadmill will pause for without restarting after you push the pause button, so that was my motivation to kick it in gear when I was doing my other exercises. Let me tell ya, you get some crazy looks from the little snots on their ellipticals and treadmills with no incline. It gives you the best feeling in the world when they’re thinking they’re so awesome doing the easy way out while you’re busting your tail because you know that the work and sweat is worth it. Now, I have nothing against a simple treadmill or elliptical work out, I’ve done them before many times. But please hear me out, CHALLENGE YOURSELF. Aside from having something to train for, I needed a “kick your ass” cardio work out that I enjoyed doing. It’s a little goofy feeling when you start out, but by the end of mile 1, you feel like you own the place. Please give it a try!

Another thing that was suggested was to learn to love burpees. I like feeling pain when I work out, don’t get me wrong. But burpees signify everything that is soulless and wrong. They’re my least favorite thing to do for a work out, period. They’re so incredibly awesome for you though! So many different muscle groups are targeted and they’ll shape you up in an instant. I just did 10 of them randomly because I felt lazy (took what, 20 seconds?) and my heart rate sky rocketed instantly. I heard that if you do an obstacle wrong or you can’t complete it, then you do burpees. Learn to love ’em i guess!

I’m going to challenge you to find some kind of event to do. I’ve wanted to do the Color Run for a while and I know there’s got to be a ton of different runs and obstacle courses around. Check it out 🙂

One thought on “Let the training begin!

Leave a Reply

