The “Sexy for Santa” Challenge

You read right. I think it’s more of an operation than a challenge, I like to call it “Operation: Get Sexy for Santa”. Thanksgiving might have been a bit rough… But one month is a long time and we have a little under a month till Christmas. Time to help motivate each other and kick it in gear just in time to shock our relatives when we see them next.

This operation is a cold turkey, kick it in the ass, never give up type of thing. I challenge all of you to set a daily goal, track daily food intake, and get in strength and cardio training at least 5 days per week. It sounds like a lot of passion and dedication, and that’s exactly what it is. Find yourself a gym partner or talk your spouse into cleaning out the fridge and bread/noodle drawers. Day by day, I will be posting new blogs and Facebook statuses on what I did for the day that’s going to help me reach my Christmas time goal. I know you want to be the one everyone takes a double take to at Christmas or even New Years, so please, take the time for yourself to get back on track and to feel amazing with your body. Please feel free to comment or share what your goal was/is, your daily tail-kicking actions, and any questions you might have.

OPERATION GET SEXY FOR SANTA- ENGAGED!

Day 1- November 27, 40 minutes of strength resistance training, full body

Today was taco Tuesday at work, which means we have street tacos for $1. Heck of a deal, right? Well one taco shell is 15 extra grams of carbs. So if you have a taco Tuesday, skip the shell. Get just the meat, lettuce, salsa, and maybe even avocado in a bowl. I also recently discovered that the green Tabasco sauce is pure amazing, especially with carnitas and cabbage!

I also had absolutely no groceries besides some frozen chicken and a bag of almonds. I’m on a budget so I gave myself $19 to spend on healthy groceries for a week or two, depending how hungry or creative I get. I walked out of the grocery store with 9 different kinds of veggies, 2 different berries, and a huge slab of salmon all under $20. Pretty impressive right? That’s exactly the way you all need to start off this operation with, a good trip to the grocery store to get only meat, veggies, and a couple different berries/nuts. It will make you realize all of the ways to cook different veggies with different meats and curb the urge you have to munch on your family’s/roommates unhealthy food. Day 1- conquered.

Sexy for Santa day 2-bootcamp followed by yoga

Today I had my boot camp this morning and did the hour workout with Lillian and had yoga after that. My goal for the day is to start making my own lunch to take to work when I work at the sports bar. I plan on making some chicken and a salad to eat at work tonight. Holy moly… So I’m pretty addicted to Pinterest like every other chick is and I found this homemade taco seasoning by Rachel Ray. It’s 1 part chili powder, 1 part onion powder (I used minced), 1 part garlic powder, 1 part cumin, and 1/4 or 1/2 part cayenne pepper, however hot you want it. A little goes a long way with this stuff. I melted some butter and cooked some peppers and onions with some seasoning, added the chicken which was hanging out in the seasoning taking it all in, and put that in a lettuce shell with some cheese and salsa. You guys, this was so dang good. I want to try it in a salad with just chicken, cheese, black beans, avocado, and salsa. Try it out!!! How are you doing on your Sexy for Santa operation???

Operation Sexy for Santa day 3: yoga

Alright, let’s be honest. It’s my birthday today so I’m allowed to have a couple cocktails. I’m human. We’re all human (I think). My goal is to keep myself under control tonight. No binge eating if I’m drunk and “hungry”, water, water, water, no sugary mixers in my drinks, and I still have to strength train tomorrow. I went to a crazy yoga class this morning (relaxing, my ass) so I got my decent workout in today. A salad for lunch allows me to a few extra carbs but not many of course. This goal is going to be intense… But definitely worth it. I want to wake up feeling sexy, not like a pile of doodee. So here goes nothing!! Wish me luck πŸ™‚ How is your challenge going? Are you actually challenging yourself???

Sexy for Santa day 4- at home squats and push ups

Not feeling the greatest today so I just have a little at home workout waiting for me. I did good yesterday with my goal! I didn’t munch at all and only had a couple beers. I kept it together πŸ™‚ Hope everyone is having a great weekend and not backing down on kicking this challenge straight in the tail!!

Sexy for Santa day 5&6

So yesterday was Sunday. And I was lazy. The only bad thing I ate was a biscuit (naughty, naughty… I know). I didn’t do any workout so I’ll be doing my strength training and cardio both tonight. Mom did send me a truffle in my advent box and I cut it in half and ate one piece. I definitely felt guilty so I took a nice stroll around the neighborhood to check out the lights/decorations and to help level out my blood sugar. I hope that that’ll give all of you the motivation to go take a stroll or do some push-ups or jumping jacks after you eat something bad! Heck even before you eat something bad. Christmas is fast approaching so it’s go time from here on out. My goal tonight is to organize my room. Being organized has a very awesome way of clearing my mind and right now my room is cluttered with boxes, suitcases, and Christmas presents. How is everyone doing on making that booty and body of yours amazing?? πŸ™‚
Gym update tonight: I’m down almost 3 lbs since I started Operation get Sexy for Santa last week. If I can do it… You can do it.

Sexy for Santa day-7, mile jog

Since I’m in Arizona with annoying perfect weather all the time in the fall/winter, I went for a small jog tonight to enjoy the Christmas lights that are up. It’s not much, but it’s more than nothing! I made my goal from yesterday and my room is nice and organized (considering all of the crap that I have). I had a carnita taco salad again today for Taco Tuesday, and it was amazing! For supper, I made my chicken, pepper, and onion lettuce wraps again with the homemade taco seasoning. So I’m getting a bit short on groceries, but I still make it work! I’m challenging you to keep a food log. Keep a small notebook or piece of paper and write down every single thing you eat. If you have access to the internet (duh cause you’re reading this), make a profile on myfitnesspal.com. It’s a user friendly site, except it tells you to take in an incredible amount of carbs. Don’t do that. Keep it under 50g of NET carbs (grams of carbohydrates minus grams of fiber). Starting to keep track of your food intake is half the battle. It’s a little difficult to get into the swing of, but once you get the hang of it and FIT THE EXTRA 10 MINUTES INTO YOUR SCHEDULE, it’s a piece of cake and helps out so much. Make it your daily goal. My goal tomorrow is to drink at least 5 glasses of water at work on my 11-4 shift. What’s your goal for tomorrow?? You better have one!!!

Sexy for Santa day 8- kinesis class

Holy moly, kinesis classes are wicked. You might think you’re in pretty good shape until you attend a 45 minute long kinesis class. The class involves movements and lifts that target a certain area of your body, but require the strength of your full body to complete, also with cardio exercises in between. It’s an amazing strength training workout as well as a cardio workout in one. As soon as we open our True Fit True Health gym in January, we will be specializing in kinesis classes. So if you’re in Arizona reading this, we’ll be opening our gym on 30th street and Camelback in January so come check us out! I did good on nutrition today and brought my salad to work with buffalo chicken and avocado again (I just can never get enough buffalo chicken sauce). My challenge to you the rest of the week is to research some new gym places that specialize in different classes- kinesis, yoga of all kinds, swimming… etc. There’s so many different kinds of classes out there that are so incredibly beneficial to your health. It doesn’t matter what age or gender you are. I go to LA Fitness as of now and my yoga classes involve ages from teenagers to awesome retiree’s lookin’ to get out of the house. My goal tomorrow is to get stuff done actively. My car needs cleaned so I might possibly have a dance party to keep my heart rate up while cleaning it. Also laundry is piling up so squats will be happening while switching clothes from the washer to dryer. Have fun with your day tomorrow and see what you can come up with to be more active! I’ve been drooling over this recipe for quite some time but haven’t made it yet. These are a great low-carb option for Christmas party snacks! Well, here ya go πŸ™‚ have at it.

Bacon Wrapped Cream Cheese Jalapeno Bites

makes 24

  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 2 teaspoons onion powder
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon Old Bay seasoning
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 12 Jalapenos, halved & seeded
  • 24 – six inch pieces of bacon, uncooked

Preheat oven to 350F.

Combine cream cheese and spices in small bowl. Spoon mixture into each pepper half, until level. Wrap each in bacon, and place on baking sheet. Bake for 40-45 minutes. Remove and enjoy!

;

Operation Sexy for Santa- day 9, strength training- 1 hr

Do you ever have those days where something just pisses you off so bad, but you can’t really do anything about it? Well, today was that day for me. It was definitely a challenge for me to control my anger. The “piss me off” moment happened when we were almost done doing body compositions. I received a text that made me so mad, I was shaking. Challenge 1: be cool. I still had 3 more people to be happy and motivational for- nailed it. Challenge 2: eat something. I cooked possibly the best chicken stir fry in the world, period. After that, I had an awesome relaxing cup of hot tea. Trust me guys and gals, get some hot tea. It’s relaxing, it’s filling so you can drink it instead of snacking, it’s just amazing. I like the Lipton decaf tea bags- the best. Last but not least, challenge 3: get my rage out at the gym. I went out of my box today and lifted with all the meat heads at LA Fitness. Yup, I was that chick with the pierced lips and a look that says “get the heck out of my way.” Let me tell ya, it was incredible. I did things I’ve never done before. I did a completely new workout than I’ve been doing for a long time and I made it up as I went! I’m going to challenge you to go out of your box. Do a new workout than you’ve ever done, there’s a TON online! Who knows, you might like it πŸ™‚ Also, look around the house. What do you see? Weights. That’s what. Bench press that chair over there. Do bicep curls with that bright orange bottle that says “Tide” on it. You know you have some laundry to do, do some squats while your putting clothes from the washer to dryer or from dryer to folding on top of the dryer. Good. Enjoy! πŸ˜€

Oh yeah, I almost forgot…. here’s a little motivation for ya.

now get to it!!

Operation get Sexy for Santa- day 10, yoga

Today was yoga again. It was amazing since I was all tight and sore from the new work out yesterday. My goal for the weekend is to set up an at home workout and follow through, whether it’s a little jog or a bunch or lunges, squats, and sit ups. I’m challenging you to do the same. Just to help you out a little bit:
50 jumping jacks
40 squats
30 crunches
20 stationary lunges each leg
10 push ups
5 squat jumps
Repeat 2-3 times for better results!
Easy peasy right? You’re welcome for this weekends workout! πŸ˜€ I hope everyone has an awesome weekend and that you CONTROL YOURSELF. We don’t have much time until Christmas so you better be kickin it in gear! Have a good weekend!

Operation: Sexy for Santa, days- 11, 12, 13

Holy moly, I’ve missed a day or two. I was so relaxed over the weekend that I saved those blogs for today (and they’re small blogs too so it’s ok, I’m allowed to do that). Well. How was the weekend? Were you naughty? Santa will know if you were, and so will your body. A lot of the people we do body compositions and nutrition counselings for have a very hard time keeping their composure on the weekend. If you drink a lot of water during the week and hardly any on the weekend, it’ll cancel out all the hydration you got during the week. It’s a lot harder to get your hydration levels up than it is to get dehydrated. Plus caffeine, alcohol, and extra carbs/sugars on the weekend are a killer for any positive change you want to make to your body. I can’t stress enough to you how important it is to keep your head on straight over the weekends! If you eat or drink something bad, make sure you work it off either earlier that day or the day after.

I lost track of time tonight making a Christmas gift and don’t have time to run to the gym. When that happens, I’ll pick up some of my old college books in my room and do:

  • 30 plie squats
  • 25 one leg squats each leg (the frame of my bed is the perfect height to put my foot back on for these)
  • 10 pushups
  • 10 crunches
  • 30 bicycles
  • 30 second side plank
  • 10 crunches
  • 30 bicycle
  • 30 sec side plank
  • 10 crunches
  • 10 push ups

If that doesn’t make me tired, repeat again. I know it’s terrible to do a workout before bed since it makes you so wide awake (me anyways), but a hot shower and a cup of hot tea calm me down enough. Also just a quick tip if you’re having some problems calming your brain down at night, if you have a smart phone, download the Pandora app or even just go to the Pandora website on your phone and for the station type in “yoga”. Some of the songs are kinda goofy, but if I actually focus on listening to the music, it puts me right to sleep in no time. Just something to try! Guess what? Christmas is in 2 weeks. Be good. Focus. By now your clothes should start to get a little bit more lose and you should feel like a million dollars. Stay strong!!!

Sexy for Santa days 14, 15

Yesterday was a busy day! I did another at home workout and my butt is so sore today (love bein sore). I just made what could possibly be the best chicken, in the world. Pound a chicken breast till its thin and sprinkle both sides with salt and pepper, mix together 1 oz cream cheese, 1 jalapeno (I only used half and it was plenty spicy for me), and 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese. Then you roll the thin chicken around the jalapeno mixture and wrap it all in bacon, cook it at 400 for 25 minutes, and eat very slowly to savor every single bite you take. Everyone and everyone should eat that chicken over and over. It was so simple to make too! I went out last night so I’ve kind of been hurting today and thinking what I can do for a workout. My gym has a pool and a sauna so I’m thinking of going for a swim then chugging a ton of water in the sauna to sweat out all the awful toxins that are still in my body. Drink suggestion? Vodka water with a lemon. It tastes just like lemon water and has no artificial or real sugars like sodas and juices would have. It sounds disgusting, but if you get the good vodka, it’s actually pretty decent! Alright, well, that’s my shpeal (or however you spell it). I hope you all are kickin’ ass and takin’ names out there!!

Sexy for Santa day 16

Wow yesterday’s gym session rocked. I’m telling you, if your gym has a pool, use the shit outta that thing!! I had a very long day of recovery yesterday and I sat in the sauna for 15 minutes (be careful with the time you sit in those things, they can be very dangerous) and then swam for 20 minutes. It wasn’t even a fast swim or any where I had my head under the water even, and my heart rate was still way up. Don’t be afraid to branch out and switch it up at your gym! I’ve never used the pool or sauna before and I felt great afterwards. Today was pretty “blah” for a sexy day. Ate a chicken taco salad (pretty much my lettuce wraps but in salad form with other greens) and forgot my water bottle for work so I didn’t drink any water until about 3 today. Not good. Not good at all. Other than that, I just had some good ME time today. Wrapped a bunch of Christmas presents (my absolute favorite thing to do), sipped a couple cups of hot tea, and just now getting ready to go to the gym for a full body strength training session. It’s definitely well needed. I want all of you to challenge yourself to schedule some ME time in your days. Take a bath, light some candles and listen to soundscapes or yoga music, go for a relaxing walk, wrap presents if you enjoy it, dance around the house… the list goes on and on. You need ME time every single day so please don’t forget about yourself. It’s a great stress reliever and KEEPS YOU SANE! Alright. The gym should be slowing down right about now, check in with ya tomorrow!! πŸ™‚

Sexy for Santa day 17 & 18

It’s been a great couple of days!! My workout yesterday consisted of a fast 2 mile run and about 10 laps in the pool afterwards. I ran super fast so I could have time to swim :). Today we went hiking to and in superstition mountain. It was so rainy and cloudy… The mountain seems as if its hiding in the clouds. It’s so cool! It was definitely a heart rate raiser. I made a bunch of those cream cheese and jalapeΓ±o stuffed chicken wrapped in bacon that i mentioned a couple updates ago and fed a bunch of people. They were just as good the second time around. If you’re reading this and round a Fry’s, go to Fry’s IMMEDIATELY and buy stuff. We got chicken packs with 3 big breasts in each pack, buy one get 2 free. Also got snow crab legs… A huge $30 container for $11. Stores are marking things down like crazy so keep an eye on your produce/meat section at your grocer for markdowns! Yes it’s the weekend and I’m allowed to drink… So I’m drinking vodka water again (vodka also $10 off for the good stuff!) but this time I have the Dasani water flavoring that we got for $0.60 when they’re originally $1.60. This weekend I’m challenging you to find a new trail or hike if you’re in Arizona. Even where there’s snow, a hike in the snow is such a good workout!! Get all bundled up and discover a new part of town or a new field by the river (not trespassing of course). This country has beautiful sights this time of year and I urge you all to find a new place to explore. So get out there and have a good Sunday!!

And also everyone say a prayer for all of the victims and their families going through the tragedy that happened at the elementary school in Connecticut. It’s an awful time for them and they can use all the thoughts and prayers they can get. My heart goes out to you!!

Sexy for Santa day 19

Lazy Sunday!! Watched the packers game at a friends’ bar and had a couple brews. It’s football season and I understand how good beer tastes while watching your team stomp the other team who’s so desperate to win, but please please don’t forget to drink water. It tastes like crap if you drink it with beer so make sure you get a liter or two in before you start drinking and a couple more when you’re done drinking. Water is magical!! πŸ™‚ Well that’s all I have for you today… Short, sweet, and to the point.

Sexy for Santa Day 20

Alright blog readers. Crunch time. Stay focused. Stay strong. Stay controlled. We only have a few more days until Santa arrives. How have you been doing? Daily exercising? Low flour and sugar intake? I hope so. You’ve got the battle won right there then. I wasn’t home all weekend so I’m down to the bare minimum of groceries. I just ended up getting a huge bowl and filling it with lettuce, mixed greens, broccoli, carrots, hard boiled eggs, and cucumbers. Oh and ranch dressing of course. It has fat, some protein, and lots of veggies. Plus an easy lunch for tomorrow. Viola! Clean out your fridge by putting everything together in a bowl and covering it with a dressing of your choice, or even just lemon juice and oil. Not exactly the best lunch/supper you can eat but it does the job just fine. I’m about ready to head to the gym. I have a full body strength workout waiting for me. I think I’m going to take my swim suit also just in case I get the urge to swim (which I have every day when I go to the gym now). I hope all of you have discovered something new to keep you active! I was naughty and had some candy today so I definitely need to do a pretty decent cardio workout with my strength training tonight. Alright. GAME TIME!!

Sexy for Santa Day 21

Wow… so everyone that has worked in the industry knows that when you’re short handed during a shift/day that you (more than likely) get your ass handed to you. Ms. Amateur Bartender here picked up a bartending shift today to pick up some extra money before my Christmas trip home and was running from 11 AM till I clocked out at around 730 PM. Not too long of a day, but it was sure crazy!! I didn’t have time to eat at all during the day so my 2 hard boiled eggs that I ate before work saved me. Those are one thing I think should always be in the fridge. They’re easy to grab and go and have good nutritional value so you’re not starving when you get done eating them. That’s my tip for the day. Hard boiled eggs. Taco Tuesday again so, of course, I had tacos after work. Instead of just putting the meat and toppings in a bowl this time, they put it on a bed of lettuce and I used that as a wrap. It was probably the best thing I had ever eaten. For those of you who know me, you know I don’t do well when I don’t eat. I didn’t get to the gym today… I considered me jogging around the restaurant for 8 hours my workout. No matter what job you have, you can always come up with a way to get your physical activity in. I know I’ve done a blog on doing exercises at your desk, but you can find a way no matter what your job is or where you’re working to get in some extra physical activity. Look around. What can you climb? What can you lift more than once? Where can you speed walk/jog/run to instead of slowly walking? I hope you all are staying on track with your nutrition and exercising!! DO SOMETHING TODAY THAT YOUR FUTURE SELF WILL THANK YOU FOR.

Sexy for Santa day 22

Another night at work. I had the best supper. A Philly with no bun and a side salad. I always dip my Philly’s in au jus for a little extra juice and it’s sooooo amazing. Like I’ve said before… When you go out to eat, don’t be afraid to ask for a wrap or sandwich with no bun or in a salad form. It’s completely worth it and you feel so much better about yourself when you don’t load your meal with carbs. Yoga this morning was amazing. You really get the chance to clear your mind and relax while getting a good stretch/workout in. Try it out! We’ll talk to you tomorrow πŸ™‚ hope everyone is staying on track! Just remember that change takes time, never EVER give up on your goal. If you have one bad day, don’t let that ruin your entire week or month or year… or any time. Stay focused. Keep your goal in mind at all times. Never give up. You can do this!!!

Sexy for Santa day 23

It’s been a pretty lazy day so far. Everything is packed for vacation and I leave Sunday. Needless to say, I’m ready for Christmas to be here! I went to the store to get a couple groceries to get me till I leave and I got some ham from the deli, it’s sooooo much better than the pre-packaged sandwich crap and I got half lb. for just over $2 so I think it’s pretty cheap too. I made an egg stuffed green pepper. I started out with a little shredded cheese, egg, and onion in a green pepper I halved the long way. I put ham on the top and put it in the oven at 350 but the ham was done and the egg was nowhere near done. So I took off the ham and put the temp at 400 for another 10 mins or so and it was perfect. Put the ham back on top, add some more cheese, and cook till it’s melted. It was pretty dang good!! Be creative with your pantry to make sure your low-carb lifestyle doesn’t get boring. Headed to the gym here in a bit to get my strength training in and prolly a few swimming laps. I just can’t get enough of it! My boss and I have a goal to get down 2% body fat by Jan. 3rd. It’s really going to test my self control through my Christmas break. Challenge- accepted. Hope you all feel the same way πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

