Yummmm Pumpkin Soup

I hope you all don’t mind me posting soup recipes and things that have to do with the cold. I’m kind of missing my mountain time and being back in Nebraska where all of the leaves are brown and crunchy. I had an hour or so to kill after boot camp on Friday and I decided to go eat some eggs and ham at the coffee shop. They had a Scottsdale Health magazine there so I picked it up and began my journey of time wasting. Little did I know that I would run into, what looks like, the most amazing pumpkin soup ever. Pumpkins have a very good amount of vitamins and minerals including vitamins A, C, and E, Riboflavin, Potassium, and Manganese. So dig in! (Of course to the seeds, also)

So here goes nothing! Please please let me know if you try it. I haven’t got to make it yet so let me know how it turns out!! 🙂

Image

1 tbsp olive oil (or butter if you’re on the Paleo lifestyle)

1 clove garlic, minced

1 onion, diced

2 stalks celery, diced (I would probably put more than that in since I LOVE celery!)

1 cup white wine

1 tbsp chopped fresh thyme

3 lbs. pumpkin, peeled and chopped

7 cups vegetable broth

1/2 cup heavy cream

Directions: In a large soup pot, combine the oil, garlic, onions, and celery and saute until softened, about 4 minutes. Reduce heat to low and add wine. Allow to simmer for 3-4 minutes. Add remaining ingredients, except the cream, and bring to a simmer. Allow to cook for at appx. 30 minutes, or until pumpkin is soft. In batches, puree in a food processor or blender until smooth. Place the blended soup in a clean saucepan. stir in the cream, and season with salt and pepper as needed. Serve garnished with additional herbs (such as rosemary) if desired.

Leave a Reply

