Chicken tortilla soup- so good!

So I got so excited when I got a crock pot and went out and bought a southwest slow cooking recipe book. Little did I know that I would soon find out how to cook the best chicken tortilla soup ever. I made it over the weekend for some friends and it was a huge hit so I thought I would share it with my blog readers! Enjoy 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped (I used the canned ones and they worked perfectly)
  • 1 (16 ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2 green chiles, roasted and chopped
  • 2 tablespoons ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1 tablespoon cornmeal
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 2 cups red chile sauce
  • 2 boneless chicken breasts
  • 1 avocado, pitted, peeled, and diced (definitely a must!)
  • 2 limes
  • cilantro
  • monterey jack cheese, shredded

Saute the onions in a skillet with the olive oil. In the slow cooker, combine the sauteed onions, garlic, jalapeno, diced tomatoes, tomato paste, chiles, cumin, cayenne, cornmeal, chicken stock, red chile sauce, and chicken breasts. Cover and cook on low for 5 to 6 hours. Remove chicken, shred with a fork, and return to the slow cooker. Add avocado, cover, and cook on low until soup is thoroughly heated. Spoon soup into individual serving bowls and garnish with lime juice, cilantro, and cheese. Then enjoy the best tortilla soup you’ve ever had in your life and spread the love by sharing with friends and family. Makes 4-6 servings.

Now, I don’t know about you guys, but I am absolutely crazy for soup. I made the batch x1.5 so I would have enough left over to hold me over until I have soup coming out of my ears. I also didn’t add the avocado until the soup was spooned into the individual bowls because I knew there was going to be left overs and wasn’t sure how the avocado would hold up. Get to cookin’!

Leave a Reply

