Always an alternative

As you all probably know by now, I love to look at different recipes. Some good ones, some weird ones, some completely impossible to do ones. After so long, I got sick of looking at all of the stuff that has high a high carbohydrate/sugar content, so I quit out of frustration and my diet got completely lame. I find myself craving carbs more and just completely bored with everything that I’m able to eat. Well enough of that crap…

Getting back into recipes, there’s really not a recipe that’s unhealthy that you can substitute an alternative to make it a healthy dish. For example, I found a protein shake that is supposed to taste like cake batter. Wow, right? The recipe was alright, but with me being strict on a low carb, high fat lifestyle, it wasn’t exactly the right protein shake. What did I (and my watering mouth) do? Looked at every ingredient in the shake and substituted the ones I didn’t like with a better alternative to cater to my lifestyle.

Cake Batter Protein Shake

Serves 1

  • ½ cup lowfat cottage cheese
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (like Designer Whey protein powder)
  • 3-5 drops almond extract or butter extract
  • 1 tablespoon sugar-free vanilla instant pudding mix OR 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3-5 Stevia packets (or sweetener of choice to taste)
  • ½-1 cup water
  • 5-10 ice cubes
  • Optional: Sprinkles for topping!

Put everything into a blender and blend, adding as much water and ice until your desired, creamy consistency is reached. Top with sprinkles if desired, and enjoy!

MY VERSION!! Cake Batter Protein Shake

Serves 1

  • ½ cup cottage cheese
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (like Designer Whey protein powder)
  • 3-5 drops almond extract or butter extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ½-1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 5-10 ice cubes
  • Optional: Sprinkles for topping!
What I did: Substituted whole fat cottage cheese for the low fat (low fat is acky anyways), chose the vanilla extract option, substituted the stevia packets and the water for just coconut milk- the coconut milk is super sweet and does have 6g of sugar per 8oz serving, but in my opinion, it’s better than artificial sweetener and water (better consistency too!), and lastly, added a tablespoon (or more) of olive oil to get some healthy fat in there as well, you can’t even tell it’s there.
Now, I don’t take any protein powder because I get enough protein in my diet. That doesn’t mean my mouth didn’t tell me that this shake would be completely amazing for my sweet tooth. And it was so easy to substitute the ingredients, too!

Don’t be afraid to try different things because “they just don’t taste the same”. I’ve known a lot of really stubborn people in my life and I almost guarantee that if you use the healthy substitutions, you’ll rarely be able to tell the difference.

Another healthy substitution you can do is make lasagna out of zucchini instead of noodles. You’re still getting about the same consistency as the noodles and it still tastes great! Take your favorite recipes and see what you could do different and see if anyone notices who’s had that recipe before. Make it a game :) How healthy can I get my friends and family to eat while they don’t know it? Use your imagination! If you make it different and it tastes nasty, there’s always next time…

Let me know if you are using any healthy substitutions for your recipes! I’m always open to try new foods :)

Recipe source: http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/blogs/fitstop/2012/08/23/healthy-eating/fit-blogger-we-love-dashing-dish/

Leave a Reply

